2021 Supervisorial District Lines Advisory Commission Meeting Thursday, October 7, 2021, 6:30 p.m.

BY VIDEOCONFERENCE ONLY

FINAL MINUTES

Chair Jim Lawrence called the meeting to order at 6:31 p.m.

1. Roll Call

Present:

Commission Members: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe, Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero, Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

Absent:

Commission Members: Nicole Davis and Hermes Monzon-Ruiz.

Staff: Justin Mates, Deputy County Manager; David Silberman, Chief Deputy County Counsel; Brian Kulich, Lead Deputy County Counsel; and Sukhmani Purewal, Assistant Clerk of the Board.

2. Adopt a Resolution Finding that, as a Result of Continuing COVID-19 Pandemic State of Emergency, Meeting in Person Would Present Imminent Risks to the Health or Safety of Attendees (Chair)

Speakers: Brian Kulich

Commissioner Monzon-Ruiz arrived to the virtual meeting at 6:33 p.m.

Motion to approve the resolution:

RESULT: Approved (Resolution No. 2021-01)

MOTION: Nirmala Bandrapalli SECOND: Nadia Bledsoe

AYES [14]: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe,

Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Hermes Monzon-Ruiz, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero,

Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES: None

Absent [1]: Nicole Davis

3. Oral Communications and Public Comment

Public Speaker: Ray Buenaventura

4. Action: Set the Agenda

Motion to set the agenda and postpone Item No. 5 to a future meeting:

RESULT: Approved MOTION: Mark Olbert

SECOND: Nirmala Bandrapalli

AYES [14]: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe,

Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Hermes Monzon-Ruiz, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero,

Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES: None

Absent [1]: Nicole Davis

5. Action: Approval of the Minutes

No action was taken as this item was postponed to a future meeting during "Action to set the agenda."

- 6. **Public Hearing:** Communities of Interest and Draft Map(s) of Supervisorial District Boundaries
 - a. Summary of Testimony/Information Received Regarding Communities of Interest (Justin W. Mates, Deputy County Manager)

A community of interest is a population that shares common social or economic interests that should be included within a single district for purposes of its effective and fair representation. Communities of interest do not include relationships with political parties, incumbents, or political candidates.

Speaker(s):

Justin Mates, Deputy County Manager

 Action: Presentation of Draft Map(s) and Discuss and Provide Direction to Staff Regarding Additional Draft Maps or Modifications to Existing Draft Map(s) of Supervisorial District Boundaries (Kristen Parks, National Demographics Corporation)

Speaker(s):

Kristen Parks, National Demographics Corporations (NDC), Commissioner Espinoza, Commissioner Azose, Brian Kulich, Commissioner Olbert, Commissioner Chan, Commissioner Sallander, Chair Lawrence, Commissioner Bledsoe, Commissioner Monzon-Ruiz, David Silberman, and Commissioner Romero.

Motion to remove Map 57388 from consideration:

RESULT: Approved MOTION: Nadia Bledsoe SECOND: Rudy Espinoza

AYES [14]: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe,

Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Hermes Monzon-Ruiz, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero,

Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES: None

Absent [1]: Nicole Davis

c. Action: Open Public Hearing to Receive Public Testimony Regarding Communities of Interest and Draft Map(s) of Supervisorial District Boundaries

Motion to open public hearing:

RESULT: Approved MOTION: Rudy Espinoza SECOND: Mark Olbert

AYES [14]: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe,

Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Hermes Monzon-Ruiz, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero,

Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES: None

Absent [1]: Nicole Davis

Public Speakers: Josh Powell, Allyson Gunsallus, Patricia Mayall, Heather McAvoy, Ray Buenaventura, Erick Black, April Vargas, Cindy Crowe-Urgo, Daly City Mayor Juslyn Manalo, Charles Potana, and Magdalen Mui.

d. Close Public Hearing

Motion to close public hearing:

RESULT: Approved

MOTION: Miguel Guerrero

SECOND: Mark Olbert

AYES [14]: Benj Azose, Nirmala Bandrapalli, Marcus Barber, Nadia Bledsoe,

Nathan Chan, Rita Chow, Mark Dinan, Rudy Espinoza, Miguel Guerrero, Hermes Monzon-Ruiz, Mark Olbert, Priscilla Romero,

Kailen Sallander, and Chair Jim Lawrence.

NOES: None

Absent [1]: Nicole Davis

7. Commission Member Reports

None

8. Discuss Next Hearings Dates

Next meeting is on October 21, 2021 but an additional Commission meeting for October 28, 2021 was added to the calendar.

9. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 9:09 p.m.